reverie v. reality

statement of intent (& notes to self)

This post is one-part silly and two-parts serious.

It's sort of a little reminder to myself. Like, Okay, I'm picking up blogging because it's fun and I think it will be good for my overall mental health. 1 So, while I'm here, there are some things I would like to steer towards.

I feel like I've been kind of locked out of my Creativity and Sense of Self 2 for the last few years. My memory is terrible, I struggle with word-finding and getting my thoughts out without them winding all over the place, and I totally shut down when I have to talk about big feelings.

I honestly think a lot of this has worsened recently due to an increase in anxiety and insecurity, so I'm hoping that I can counter the effects of whatever curse lock I've put on my brain by giving myself the space and freedom to allow my words to spill out in whatever format feels right.

I've been in an intake zone for awhile. I'd like to get into an output zone, if that makes any sense at all.

I'm also a big fan of writing down my goals going into anything new. That way, I can reflect back later and look at how my priorities changed and what I accomplished.

I'm pretty good about following this format in a work environment, but I've never been as good at implementing it into my hobbies and personal projects.

I thought I'd give it a try here!
So, y'know...here goes!

Top 5 Intentions

Journaling Intentions

This is composed of two parts:
Part 1 (Readers):

Part 2 (Self):

Conclusion

Maybe I'll come back and update this intermittantly if I think of anything else. Maybe I'll just do a follow-up at some point. I just wanted a space to look back on later. Sometimes I don’t notice the progress I’ve made on something until I have a point to reference, you know?

Anyway, if you made it through this, I’m appreciative! Thank you for traveling on my train of thought. I'm sure we're all here (i.e. Bear) for different reasons, which is why I thought it might be enjoyable to lay my reasons out on paper online.

Until next time.

Good luck out there!
Eve

• • • • • • • •

  1. There are plenty of studies (3) that confer on the matter, but in this case I'm specifically referencing Bear Blog's developer Herman's post Observations on 6 years of journaling, which did inspire me to actually jump in and start my blog/journal. (Sidenote: I'm not quite sure of current blogging etiquette. It's been a while since I was on a platform - here's hoping that linking someone else's post isn't bad form!) • • • • (3) Footnote within the footnote: Listen, I did spend upwards of an hour bopping around on GoogleScholar and the like, pulling up relevant articles. But I forgot I'm not in grad school anymore and everything is behind a stupid freaking paywall & I got frustated and scrapped it (sorry). And also I didn't want to provide a link only to send you to a paywall, so you'll just have to take me at my word or go GoogleScholar it for yourself.

  2. Maybe strange that I capitalize these, but I think of them as capital-letter Components or Concepts. Kind of why I did a big ol' post right out of the gate about restoring my Sense of Self. It feels like a Big Thing to me.

#personal #reveries #thesis