reverie v. reality

g.l.o.t. 🍀

So, about my sign-off.

I let a friend of mine read a first draft of a post (still too terrified to lead anyone to the actual blog, but this friend isn't the type to go snooping after the fact) and she was a little confused by the meaning.

"Is it, like, 'Good luck. You're going to need it, because it's rough out there'?" she asked me.

I thought, Is that what people read it as? Oh, dear, that's not quite what I meant.

So, the short answer is: sometimes, maaaaaybe yes. But mainly, no.

I mean, yeah, it is rough out there. Life is tough and complicated and stressful and terrifying. That's not what I'm trying to convey, though.

I mean it more as a blessing, much like you tell a friend, "Be safe!" when they leave your house. I'm trying to pass a little luck on to you by sheer force of will.

Good luck out there.
I hope they have a fresh batch of your favorite pastries at the coffee shop today.
I hope your favorite song plays on the bus radio.
I hope you get a letter from a good friend.
I hope there's some great joy to stumble upon.
I wish you luck out there in the world today.

And I really mean this. I wish you all the best. I might not know you, but I want you to be happy. I want us all to be happy. So, when you go, I'm weaving a little luck into our farewell - I'm sending it with you, out into the world!

Today is a good day, and you are full of good things, and there are even better things waiting for you.

Good luck out there,
Eve

#personal #reveries #thesis