reverie v. reality

drought & downpour

I find it pretty funny - starting this blog, I really thought I wouldn't be able to think of anything to write about. I was worried that I would get one or two ideas down and then fizzle out completely, but it's been more than two weeks since my first post and I don't feel the fizzle coming on yet...Actually, I already have a few more final drafts queued up, and I have several rough drafts and another page dedicated to saving little snippets or ideas for later.

I jot down stuff a few times a day - just whenever I encounter something that makes me stop and think for a moment. And not every idea goes anywhere, but I'm looking at things with new eyes, I guess. It's...really nice.

Don't get me wrong - I'm sure I'll hit a point where I slow down and struggle and have to push through the block, but I'm truly shocked by how much faster I found the words spilling out of me once I gave myself permission to just go for it. I don't think I've written this much in two or three years. I didn't even know I could write this much anymore! (Objectively, maybe a silly thing to think, but I just…thought I’d lost it, you know?) I thought my brain was all creatively dried up like a little raisin, but I'm writing again (said with absolute glee) and I'm having so much fun with it!

I don't care if something I post is a little silly or overdone or messy. (Well - for now, at least. I'm trying to remind myself that there will likely be posts that I second-guess or worry aren't as 'good' or interesting at some point, but that at the end of the day, this is just a study in getting the words out at all.)

Kill the perfectionism and make art from its bones, you know?

I can't express how good it feels to make again; like standing in a rainstorm after a long drought (cue "Hear You Me" by Jimmy Eat World, like I'm in A Cinderella Story or something 1) and I feel fresh, and soaked to the bone, and a little more real than I have in quite some time.

Oh, what's that saying, again? "Let the rain fall down / And wake my dreams?" 2

;)

Good luck out there,
Eve

• • • • • • • •

  1. OKAY, it's not at all a perfect comparison, but it made me laugh thinking about it. || Rosman, Mark. A Cinderella Story. Warner Bros., 2004

  2. Sorry, I saw the opportunity to make the joke and I took it…! || Duff, Hilary. "Come Clean." Metamorphosis. Buena Vista, 2003.

#honeybears #personal #reveries